ODI World Cup: From 1975 to 2019, 6 semi-finals and 2 finals, yet New Zealand could not win the title, see shocking figures

new zealand cricket team

New Zealand’s ODI World Cup Record

odi world cup

New Zealand’s ODI World Cup Record: New Zealand was a finalist in the last 2 ODI World Cups. In the 2015 World Cup, the Kiwi team was defeated by Australia and in 2019 by England and was prevented from becoming champion. Apart from the 2 finals, New Zealand has additionally showed up in the semi-finals multiple times in the 12 releases of the ODI World Cup played up until this point, however has not had the option to come out on top for the championship yet. It was the Kiwi team which defeated India in the semi-finals of the 2019 World Cup.

So far, it has been eliminated from the group stage only twice.

From the first Men’s ODI World Cup in 1975 to 2019, New Zealand has been out of the group stage only twice. For the first time, the team had to be eliminated from the group stage in the 1983 World Cup, when the Indian team became champion for the first time. After this, in the next season (1987), the Kiwi team once again had to be eliminated from the group stage.

Read this also :Shreyas Iyer has fixed the No.4 spot that was his from the beginning

Since the first two editions, when have you become a semi-finalist?

New Zealand had made it to the semi-finals in both the initial editions of the World Cup played in 1975 and 1979. After this the team also played the semi-finals in the 1992 World Cup. Then in the 1999 edition also, the Kiwi team was successful in making it to the semi-finals. After this, the team secured a place in the semi-finals consecutively in the 2007 and 2011 editions. In this way New Zealand reached the semi-finals 6 times in 12 World Cups.

Lost a golden opportunity to win the title in the last four seasons

In the last four seasons i.e. 2007, 2011, 2015 and 2019 World Cup, New Zealand has lost the golden opportunity to win the title. In 2007 and 2011, the team secured a place in the semi-finals and then in the 2015 and 2019 editions, the Kiwi team was successful in reaching the finals both consecutive times, but could only become the runner-up there.

New Zealand’s journey in the World Cup from 1975 to 2019

1975- Semifinalist
1979- Semifinalist
1983- Group stage
1987- Group stage
1992- Semifinalist
1996- Quarterfinalist
1999- Semifinalist
2003- Super 6
2007- Semifinalist
2011- Semifinalist
2015- Runner up
2019- Runner up.

Read this also :

Varanasi Cricket Stadium: A signal of social and monetary change

‘I believe that question is addressed’: KL Rahul’s solid reaction to pundits ‘worried about his wellness’

India women vs Bangladesh women : India Women Storm into Asian Games 2023 Final, Securing Medal with Sensational Semifinal Triumph over Bangladesh

India vs Australia, 1st ODI: India beats Australia to oust Pakistan as the No. 1 ODI group

IND versus AUS first ODI: Suryakumar Yadav bursts against Australia, India check another crate

Seven Nations in the Caribbean affirmed as hosts of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

ICC reports Guard prize cash for ODI World Cup; victors to get THIS sum

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *